The Writer In Me: an origin story

For as long as I can remember, I have always been fascinated by stories, either from the wacky ones my mom told me as child or reading them in the many books I had accumulated for myself and from my siblings.

The earliest I can remember trying my hand at making up my own story was in preschool. The circumstances are groggy, but my teachers let us lead songs or tell stories about a song to the class. Everyone had a turn. When it was my turn, I talked about “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star.” However, I deviated from the lyrics towards a story about how the star itself came to be and an extension of its adventures.

Since then, I have been one to create stories and fortunately, I had the gift of being able to illustrate those stories. I played with dolls, continued to read with ferocity, and played make believe during and after school. Then I got turned to video games and have never went back.

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve viewed all aspects of media – art, film, games – as storytelling means and ways that inform my own writing and spark inspiration for me. If I have writer’s block, one of the first things I do after doodling or staring at the blankness ahead of me, is play a game or watch something on TV in hopes that it may jog my thoughts. I have heard that one should read to increase their writing, but, and it may well be because I’m backwards, everything but reading helps me. And because of this, my writing takes a theatrical shape. The scenes unfold similar to the panning of a camera, starting with an outside shot, winding to the table of our main character. Or I tend to include things that would be important in a film or video game that may hold up the writing. I don’t know if this is a positive or a negative but it’s something that I continue to work with. It may come in handy one day.

Leave a Reply

